Those 4 little words …

imageWhether your offspring is 7, 14, or 21, there can be few words sweeter than those 4 little words  … “I’m tidying my bedroom!”  Especially when they are offered spontaneously with no prompting or coercion!! And it’s even more satisfying, and stunning, to hear “I’m giving it all a good clear out”. Such wonderful words made their way to my ears today 🙂

Yet, judging by the state of our landing after Andy lifted multiple boxes and bags out of the hotpress to check the boiler, I need to be saying those words too!!! But that’s a job for another day, I’m already a day late writing this blog!!

I do have tidying and clearing out things on my mind. My daughter, Leigh-Ann, is getting married in just over 2 weeks and I have a mother of the bride nesting thing going on (in my head more so than in my house!). Why do I feel the need to clean the inside of the microwave and oven for a wedding?!?!

Wedding or no wedding there always comes a time to de-clutter hotpresses and microwaves, but much more importantly our hearts and minds. And not just on a sporadic basis but regularly.

I am soo excited about the wedding but sometimes I feel like the butterflies in my garden have moved into my tummy! A wedding requires much planning in advance but it can also provide an opportunity to worry in advance. I am naturally tempted to do this anyway but the pending nuptials are taking this temptation to a whole new level 😦

I’m having to do a daily, if not hourly, de-clutter of thoughts that do not need to be in my head right at this minute. I remember some good advice about that …

Give your entire attention to what God is doing right now, and don’t get worked up about what may or may not happen tomorrow. God will help you deal with whatever hard things come up when the time comes. (Matthew 6:34 MSG)

Don’t panic. I’m with you. There’s no need to fear for I’m your God. I’ll give you strength. I’ll help you. I’ll hold you steady, keep a firm grip on you. (Isaiah 41:10 MSG)

I am with you.

When Moses asked God, “Suppose I go to the People of Israel and I tell them, ‘The God of your fathers sent me to you’; and they ask me, ‘What is his name?’ What do I tell them?” God said to Moses, “I-AM-WHO-I-AM. Tell the People of Israel, ‘I-AM sent me to you.’” (Exodus 3:13-14 MSG)

That same I AM is with me and with you. I AM is in the present tense and God is always present for us.

So we need to give our entire attention to what God is doing right now, and not get worked up about what may or may not happen tomorrow. (Matthew 6:34 MSG)

When we get to tomorrow or the next day, or next week or month, I AM will be present then too.

I AM will be there …
to help you deal with whatever hard things come up when the time comes. (Matthew 6:34 MSG)
to give you strength
to help you
to hold you steady
to keep a firm grip on you. (Isaiah 41:10 MSG)

As Jesus said, Can any one of you by worrying add a single hour to your life? (Matthew 6:27 NIV)

Give all your worries and cares to God, for he cares about you. (1 Peter 5:7 NLT)

Pile your troubles on GOD’s shoulders— he’ll carry your load, he’ll help you out. (Psalm 55:22 MSG)

You never have to de-clutter alone, I AM is always there to help.

Remember those 4 little words I AM WITH YOU 🙂

 

* Disclaimer – to protect Zoe’s privacy and dignity, this is NOT a photo of her room 🙂

 

 

 

Leave a comment